Charles-Valentin Alkan: The Complete Vianna da Motta Transcriptions

Catalogue Number: TOCC0237
EAN: 5060113442376
Release Date: 2 June 2014
Duration: 83:28

Buy on

Huit Prières, Op. 64
Neuf Préludes, Op. 66
Benedictus, Op. 54

Vincenzo Maltempo, piano
Emanuele Delucchi, piano
The Portuguese piano virtuoso and composer José Vianna da Motta (1868–1948) understood the importance of Alkan’s music long before its current rise to prominence and made a number of transcriptions to foster its performance, arranging eight of the organ Prières for solo piano and some of the music for pédalier – the obsolete pedal-piano – for piano duo and duet.

Download Booklet

Buy on